Tirana Conference – Miklós Tomka Award

The ISORECEA Board has established the Miklós Tomka Award in honour of the memory of Miklós Tomka, the internationally acknowledged and widely esteemed scholar of religion specializing in the Central and Eastern European region, who died unexpectedly in 2010.

The Award is granted on a competitive basis for the best paper submitted to the Award Committee appointed by the Executive Board of ISORECEA. The author has to declare that the work has not been published before. Already published works will not be accepted. The competition is open to early-career scholars, with a special focus on PhD students, whose abstract proposal has been accepted for the 2024 conference (the decision announced by January 15, 2024). Those who are not currently members of ISORECEA may apply, but, if successful, they must become ISORECEA members (i.e. have paid their membership fee for 2024-2025) by February 15, 2024, which is the final date for registration for the conference, in order to receive the Award. The Award comprises:

  • publication of the paper in the ISORECEA open-access and SCOPUS-indexed journal Religion and Society in Central and Eastern Europe;
  • exemption from the conference fee;
  • covering accommodation costs during the conference (reimbursed after the conference, based on receipt).

Early-career scholars, interested in entering the competition, are invited to submit their completed papers to the email address of the ISORECEA secretary: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by January 31, 2024. The subject of the email should read: MTA application. The winner will be announced by February 14, 2024. Papers submitted for the Award should be between 5,000 and 8,000 words long (inclusive of footnotes, references, etc.) and should strictly follow the rules applying to papers submitted to the ISORECEA journal Religion and Society in Central and Eastern Europe. For details see:


Members of the Miklós Tomka Award Committee: Katarzyna Zielinska, Miroslav Tížik, Barbara Thériault.